Directors and Boards

Dr. Joshua VeltmanDr. Joshua Veltman is the conductor of the Symphonic Winds. He began music lessons at the age of 9 and has been involved in music ever since.  Josh majored in music at Calvin College and went on to earn master’s and doctoral degrees in musicology from Ohio State University.  Dr. Veltman now serves as a full-time faculty member at Union University, where he teaches courses in music history and art appreciation.  He also directed the hand-bell choir at Union for 6 years.  Joshua’s main instrument is the clarinet, which he played for several years in the Jackson Symphonic Winds before taking up the baton.  Dr. Veltman aspires to lead the band in performances of the highest caliber to create a true community treasure for the city of Jackson and beyond.

David KylesDavid Kyles is the director of the Jackson Swing Orchestra. He was born and reared in the Madison county area where he attended North Side High School. David received a Bachelor of Science in Music Education from the University of Tennessee at Knoxville and at UT Martin. He attended Graduate School at Middle Tennessee State University where he received a Master of Arts in Teaching degree with an emphasis on  trumpet performance and aesthetics in the musical and visual arts. David has taught band, choir, and general music in the public schools of Missouri, Tennessee, and Alabama for over 36 years and is currently the general music teacher for grades K-3 in the Chester County, Tennessee schools, where he also assists with the band program. He served as Principal Trumpet of the Huntsville, Alabama Symphony Orchestra for 9 seasons. As a professional trumpeter, David has performed with nationally known entertainers such as Glen Campbell, Stella Parton, Chet Atkins, and Holiday on Ice. Currently, he is an on-call recording studio musician in the West Tennessee area, and upon retirement from education this year, plans to teach privately and continue performing.


Executive Board

President John McVey
Vice-President George Googe
Treasurer Ruth Ellyn Wing
Secretary David Wing
SW Rep Julia Paschall
SW Rep Donna Perkins
JSO Rep Jeff Stephens
SW Director Joshua Veltman
JSO Director David Kyles